The Jack Lasenby Award 2014

The  Jack Lasenby Award, run by the WCBA, is made to the winners of a biennial competition for writers for children and for children who write in the Wellington region.  The award honours Jack Lasenby, one of New Zealand's most popular children's writers and patron of the association.

This year we were especially thrilled to hear that Jack Lasenby had been honoured with the 2014 Prime Minister's Literary Award for Fiction.  

However, the committee had already made the decision that we would not be offering the Jack Lasenby Award this year, because of the need to concentrate on trying to organise the children's writers and illustrators conference for next year. 

We apologise for any disappointment and look forward to offering this award again in the future. 

No comments: