Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Wellington- creative heart and soul!

Well... do Wellington writers and illustrators rock?! We here at the WCBA are very excited by the fact that our city is home to major talent- and some of it even on our committee! Congratulations to members Fleur Beale, Philippa Werry and of course, our beloved patron Jack Lasenby, all shortlisted for the NZ Post Book Awards. And to the other shortlisted Wellingtonians: Joy Cowley (yes we are claiming you!), Gregory O'Brien, Weta Workshop's Daniel Falconer and Paul Tobin, Ali Teo and John O'Reilly, Philip Webb and our much cherished, Kate De Goldi. We think this must be a good place to be- something to think about when considering registering for the conference in April!

The full shortlist:

Picture Book

Duck’s Stuck! Written by Kyle Mewburn, illustrated by Ali Teo and John O’Reilly (Scholastic New Zealand)

Every Second Friday written by Kiri Lightfoot, illustrated by Ben Galbraith
(Hodder Children’s Books)

Piggity-Wiggity Jiggity Jig written by Diana Neild, illustrated by Philip Webb (Scholastic New Zealand)

Roadworks written by Sally Sutton, illustrated by Brian Lovelock (Walker Books)

The Were-Nana written by Melinda Szymanik, illustrated by Sarah Nelisiwe Anderson (Scholastic New Zealand)


Back & Beyond: New Zealand Painting for the Young & Curious
by Gregory O’Brien (
Auckland University Press)

The Crafting of Narnia: The Art, Creatures, and Weapons from Weta Workshop
by Weta Workshop, Paul Tobin and Daniel Falconer (HarperOne)

High-Tech Legs on Everest by Mark Inglis with Sarah Ell
(Random House New

Juicy Writing: Inspiration and Techniques for Young Writers by Brigid Lowry (Allen and Unwin)

Piano Rock: A 1950s Childhood by Gavin Bishop (Random House New Zealand)

Junior Fiction

Chicken Feathers by Joy Cowley, illustrated by David Elliot (Puffin)

Enemy at the Gate by Philippa Werry (Scholastic New Zealand)

Five (and a bit) Days in the Life of Ozzie Kingsford written by Val Bird,
illustrated by Rebecca Cundy (Random House New Zealand)

Old Drumble by Jack Lasenby (HarperCollins Publishers)

Payback by Michelle Kelly (Scholastic New Zealand)

Young Adult Fiction

The 10pm Question by Kate de Goldi (Longacre Press)

Chronicles of Stone #1, Scorched Bone by Vincent Ford (Scholastic New Zealand)

Gool by Maurice Gee (Puffin)

Juno of Taris by Fleur Beale (Random House New Zealand)

The Tomorrow Code by Brian Falkner (Walker Books)

All winners will be announced at an awards ceremony held at Auckland Museum on Wednesday 20 May.

No comments: